Nagarjuna Sagar Dam Guntur – The Spectacular Place to Cherish in


Nexxt was the most awaited destination in my agenda the Nagarjuna Sagar Dam. I have visited this place before and the greenish foliage and the forest attracted me the most. The visit to this place helped me to learn more about nature, flora and fauna of the place.

Nagarjuna Sagar Dam

Nagarjuna Sagar Dam | Image Resource : bestwebsiteinindia.com

The Nagarjuna Sagar Dam is a gigantic structure and vehicles are not permitted to run over the dam, rather, there is a bridge constructed for transportation reason. The dam with its massive size was a sight that held the breath of anybody.

Since it was the beginning of the spring season the shutters of the dam were not open. But during my last visit I was fortunate to visit the dam during the rainy season. The all the shutters of the dam were. Then dam was at the loaded with its eminence and I was delighted in the water splashing from the dam. The power of the water took the water drops up to two kilometers. It was a captivating and cherishing experience.

Nagarjuna Left Canal

Nagarjuna Left Canal | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The Krishna River streams towards east coming to Vijayawada from here covering the Nallamada Hills. I went through the bridge and at one point I gazed at the water streaming quickly.

Nagarjuna Sagar Dam Guntur

Nagarjuna Sagar Dam Guntur | Image Resource : edupil.com

It was an enchanting day for me as I could visit the dam and the falls. I walked through the forest and observed the canopy. The smell of the green trees and the sound of the water falls were magnetizing. I observed the soil; it was wet and black by the residuals of the decayed leaves and branches.

I further visited the hydro electric project Nagarjuna Sagar, I was spell bounded to see the monsters turbans which produced electricity. The stream was gushing and the quickness of the water made an impact on the turbans producing electricity.

Hydro Electric Project Nagarjuna Sagar

Hydro Electric Project Nagarjuna Sagar | Image Resource : holidayiq.com

I went down to Ethipothala Waterfalls since it was starting of summer the water current was very less. I went down into the forest with the help of a forest guide to learn more about the environment.  The whole lagoon is reserved for the crocodile reserve. We walked around the forest unit evening and I came back to the hotel room which I booked I the morning. The sight of the dam in the night was magnificent. Next morning I made a point to have a walk for a morning to the dam. It was very pulling me towards it.

Leave a Reply

