Serenity, Divinity and Nirvana at Mangalagiri Temple


I wanted to vist to Mangalagiri Temple, which is found 25 km far from the Guntur City. There were numerous buses connecting Guntur and Mangalagiri thus I chose to catch an early transport to the temple.

Mangalagiri Temple Guntur

Mangalagiri Temple Guntur | Image Resource : holidayiq.com

I could find three temples in Mangalagiri and they are Panakala Narasimha Swamy Temple, Gandala Narasimha Swamy Temple, and Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Temple. The first and second temples are on the uphill, the third is on the foot of the hill. I enjoyed the scenic and the architectural beauty of the temple and the timings mentioned on them to be open until 12.30 pm. I decided to visit them in the morning for there were no “archana” in the evening times.

Mangalagiri Temple

Mangalagiri Temple | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

I reached the foothill; it was right around 8.30 am. I gathered a few more details about the temples. Mangalagiri is one among the famous eight temples in India, where Lord Vishnu showed himself. I took after the devotees climbing the steps to Sri Panakala Laksmi Narasimha Swamy Temple. While climbing, I offered prayers to God to the foot shaped impressions of Maha Prabhu Chaitanya.

Sri Panakala Lakshmi Narasimhaswamy

Sri Panakala Lakshmi Narasimhaswamy | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

Inside the temple, I remained at the sanctorum and offered Pooja to God. Strolling behind the temple, I stopped at Sri Lakshmi Temple to offer my prayer to God. Close to this temple, there were steps leading to Unadavalli Caves.

I also visited the Gandala Narasimha Swamy Temple and lit a light, where there was no statue or idol . After the prayer to God, I descended to offer my prayer to God at the Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Temple at the foothill. The temples are known to have the most astounding tower or Gopuram in India with a tallness of 153 feet and width 49 feet. The tower has eleven stories and its doors confront the east and west bearings.

Pannaka Narasimhaswami Temple

Pannaka Narasimhaswami Temple | Image Resource : blessingsonthenet.com

The structural planning on the Gopuram is very attractive and demonstrates the craftsmanship of the builders. There is a tank on the back side, which is said to be manufactured to straighten the tower to prove support. The temple conducts celebrations, for example, Brahmotsavam consistently. It was getting hot and we needed to go to our next destination.

Leave a Reply

