Simhachalam Temple Visakhapatnam – A perfect Combination of architecture and Divinity


I woke up late next morning, while enjoying the morning tea at the hotel I was cherishing the beauty of the Loard Shiva and Parvathy at Kalasagiri Park. My next destination in the agenda was the Simhachalam Temple. I exited the hotel 8 am and the city was busy around by then. The sanctuary is located at a distance of 20 km from the hotel.

It took around 2 hours to reach the temple and I reached the sanctuary around 10 am. Since my visit was in the beginning of spring the sun was not very hot still and Visakhapatnam lies in the seaside region of Andhra Pradesh and it has 7 shorelines encompassing the city.

Simhachalam Temple

Simhachalam Temple | Image Resource : excitingindia.in

The sanctuary is situated on a top slope. Despite the fact that there were sufficient transports accessible to the sanctuary, my esteem for trekking made me pick the trekking expedition to the sanctuary.

Simhachalam Temple's Entrance

Simhachalam Temple’s Entrance | Image resource : yatrastotemples.com

The trekking course is through narrow natural steps which was thrilling. I enjoyed the grand beauty of entire Vizhag from the top slope. Though the climbing was hard for me to start with then I got used to it.

In between I offered pooja in the Bhoolkamma Thalli. I enjoyed the scenery of the nature and could see the entire city and air terminal, port, HPCL refinery, etc. After a brief time we came to the tarred road, which connects the temple and I walked through the road. Following two hours of climbing, I came to the temple. I was hypnotized by the excellent craftsmanship and architectural beauty of the temple.

Lord Varaha Narasimha Swami

Lord Varaha Narasimha Swami | Image Resource : vizaginfo.com

The temple was built in the 11th century and the deity worshipped in the temple is Lord Narasimha, which is the Avatar of Lord Vishnu. More than a million of individuals from everywhere throughout the nworld visit this spot for worshipping and to enjoyed the structural excellence of the temple. The diety showcases both Varaha and Narasimha avatar and the deity are covered with Sandal paste, which looks like the Shiva Lingam. Just once in an yer during the Chandana Visarjana, the sandle paste is removed and the god is presented to the devotees.

Lord Varaha Stone Statue at Simhachalam Temple

Lord Varaha Stone Statue at Simhachalam Temple | Image Resource : panoramio.com

The construction modeling of the temple much looks like that of the Konark temple with the carvings of elephants, blossoms and plants. The external walls were decorated with carvings of Narasimha and we delighted in the marriage lhall constructed excellently with 16 pillars . I enjoyed each and every sculpture in the temple and it was a treat for my eyes and appreciated the peacefulness and godliness of nature around and moved down to the foothill

Lord Narasimha Rock Statue Backyard Simhachalam

Lord Narasimha Rock Statue Backyard Simhachalam Temple | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

Leave a Reply

