Birla Planetarium Jaipur – A Date with Heavenly Bodies!


During my adhoc wildlife photography expeditions or mountain trekking, often I find myself lying on the grass outside of my tent gazing at the stars up there adorning the night-sky, and thinking about them. Birla Planetarium Jaipur again rekindled my love for astronomy.

Initially few of my friends evoked a mild protest in unison about going to this planetarium during evening- thus wasting precious time of our already tight-scheduled Jaipur trip. In the end I felt so glad that the majority was on my side to visit Birla Planetarium.

Birla Planetarium Jaipur

Birla Planetarium Jaipur | Image Resource: birlaauditoriumjaipur.com/

The sprawling 9.8 acre compound of Birla Planetarium gave out a majestic vibe. We got to learn on the spot that this planetarium is one of the most modern ones in India. It houses auditorium, museum research divisions and computer science lab. If we consider the fact that Jaipur is still a mix of modernity with heritage, then definitely it’s a proud possession for the city.

There are six shows that take place every day at Birla Planetarium for visitors (11.00 am, 1.00 pm, 3.00 pm, 5.00pm, 6.00pm, and 7 pm). The spot remain closed on Mondays. It also helped that the ticket price was only Rs.20. However, I really liked to see that people from various ages came to the planetarium to attend the show- thus giving up the lure of evening cinema show. We attended the 6 pm slot which was conducted in English (the language for all the other shows are in Hindi).

The show was about – how ancient people from Egyptian and Sumerian civilizations formed connections with stellar bodies in their everyday lives. The show lasted for the customary 45 minutes. Once the show was over, we rushed to see the museum. But unfortunately it closes down at 7 pm every day, so we got to see very little of it within mere 15 minutes.

Once I step out of the premise of Birla Planetarium, the dazzling visions of sky theatre was still lingering in my mind. This spot left me asking for more and I promised myself that soon I will visit Birla Planetarium Jaipur again, to get the solutions of those unanswered questions.

Leave a Reply

