Indore Street special – Bhutte ka kees


It was fun celebrating New Year with old besties. Finally, after a long break we all met at Indore for my best friend’s sisters weeding. Most I enjoyed was food apart from spending time with my best friends.

I love socializing, attending events, wedding reason we get to relish most variety of food under one roof. Here too one dish just won my heart – Bhutte Ka Kees . This is such a lip-smacking dish, that I ask the chef making there at counter to right away share the recipe. Trust me this dish is a must try, especially during winters its most stomach filling.

So, here I am sharing this recipe of what I remembered with all my friends hope, you too like it

Bhutte Ka Kees is a street food of Indore; you would find many local vendors selling it. As a student, I love to hog on chatpata khaana. This dish is made by both Marwari’s and Maharashtrian’s. In simple way, I would call it a corn upma.

Bhutte Ka Kees

Bhutte Ka Kees | Image Resource : blogspot.com

List of items needed to make Bhutte Ka Kees

2 tbsp. – Oil, coriander stems
2 green chillies
3 tender sweet corns separated from the cob
1-inch ginger piece
Pinch of – Asafoetida, sugar
1tsp cumin seeds, mustard seeds
¼ tsp turmeric powder
Salt to taste and lemon, chopped coriander, grated coconut for garnishing

Making the dish:

First, take a grinder add – corn, ginger, cumin, green chillies to its bowl and grind it. The mixture will be coarse

Then take a pan, heat the oil, add mustard seeds once they splutter add hing, turmeric powder.

Immediately add the coarse mixture to it, salt, sugar and cook until 8 mins.

Once done, pour it into a small deep bowl and garnish with lemon juice, coriander and grated coconut. I added little more hing from top as I like its flavour.

So friends until we meet again try this out and do let me know your valuable feedback.

Leave a Reply

